‘Drinking Responsibly’ Can Have Another Meaning
There is a problem with alcohol in the UK: alcoholic-drink manufacturers don’t have to specify all the ingredients in their drinks, and even when they do, they use descriptions that can disguise what is going down your throat on a night out.
They also don’t have to mention if their filtration process is vegan. For example, lots of beers and wines are filtered to remove sediment. Some lagers are filtered through proteins found in a cow’s stomach. Wine is sometimes passed through ground-up fish swim bladders (called isinglass) and gelatine (from animal carcasses). Still more methods include running wine through blood, eggs and pus-laced milk.
If you think that checking bottles and asking bar staff is too much trouble, it’s actually easy to check before going out for a drink – courtesy of the Internet – what is vegan and readily available. There are lots of reliable lists on vegan-friendly alcohol, but I use Barnivore.com (I check on my phone). The good news now is that if you have a smart phone, there are a variety of apps that you can pull out in a pub and check straight away exactly what it is you’re drinking.
But please remember, as always – no matter what your tipple – that you should always drink responsibly in another way too.